

Voting Members

Walter Chuck, Jr., Chair (Ports, Marine Transportation or Navigation)

Jena Carter, Vice Chair The Nature Conservancy (Statewide Conservation Organization)

Susan Chambers West Coast Seafood Processors Assoc. (South Coast Commercial Fisheries)

Kevin Dunn (North Coast Commercial Fisheries)

Jamie Fereday (Coastal Public Representative)

Meagan Flier Confederated Tribes of Grand Ronde (Oregon Coastal Indian Tribes)

Loren Goddard (Coastal City Elected Official)

Vacant (Coastal Conservation Organization)

Richard Heap, Jr. (South Coast Charter, Sport or Recreational Fisheries)

John Holloway (North Coast Charter, Sport or Recreational Fisheries)

Bob Main Commissioner, Coos County (South Coastal County Commissioner)

Charlie Plybon Surfrider (Coastal Non-fishing Recreation)

Vacant (Statewide Public Representative)

David Yamamoto Commissioner, Tillamook County (North Coastal County Commissioner)

Ex-Officio Members

Brad Avy Director, Department of Geology And Mineral Industries

Caren Braby Marine Resources Program Manager, Department of Fish and Wildlife

Lindsay Eng Market Access & Certification Director, Department of Agriculture

Ray Monroe Oregon Coastal Zone Management Association

Jason Miner Natural Resources Policy Manager Governor's Office

Jim Paul Director, Department of State Lands

Jennifer Purcell Department of Environmental Quality

Patty Snow OCMP Manager, Department of Land Conservation and Development

Lisa Sumption Director, Department of Parks and Recreation

Shelby Walker Director, Oregon Sea Grant College Program

Kris Wall Federal Agency Liaison, NOAA OCM July 21, 2020

Governor Kate Brown 160 State Capitol 900 Court St NE Salem, OR 97301

Dear Governor Brown,

The Oregon Ocean Policy Advisory Council (the "Council") met via a virtual meeting in May of 2020 and wishes to communicate to you an important policy recommendation that was voted upon during that meeting.

The Council, in its deliberations, supported a motion that Senate confirmation should <u>not</u> be required as is currently required under ORS 196.438, Section 1(f)(H) for Oregon Indian Tribes. Representation to the Council is determined after consultation with the Commission on Indian Services. The Council recognizes the sovereign nation status of Oregon's federally recognized tribal governments, therefore negating the need for Senate confirmation of an individual appointed through consultation with the Commission on Indian Services.

To implement this recommendation, the Council encourages you to assist in drafting a bill for the 2021 session that will correct this requirement in the statute.

Thank you for your consideration,

GenaCarter Walt Clurch

Chair Walter Chuck and Vice-Chair Jena Carter The Ocean Policy Advisory Council

Ocean Policy Advisory Council

635 Capitol Street NE, Suite 150 Salem, Oregon 97301-2540 Phone: (503) 373-0050 Fax: (503) 378-6033 <u>www.oregon.gov/LCD</u>